Dual monitors.

There are a lot of ways how you can increase your productivity when sat in front of computer. These days basic monitors get cheaper and cheaper and used ones usually aren’t so bad either. So this might get some people thinking about either upgrading their existing monitor or getting a second one. Today I will talk about my experience with dual monitor setups, since I don’t have an experience using ultrawide monitors which is totally different experience.

My passion with dual monitors started about 3 years ago, when friend of mine told me how to expand displays rather than mirror them in windows. At that time I took my brothers monitor which he didn’t used. Then I really understood how much more productive you can be with dual monitors if your work environment can benefit from such setup. For me it was really easy to open on one screen an AutoCAD and on other screen I could have instructions on how to do things, task that I had to do, or list of things that I need to do. That was beneficial for my studies, even when you can have your essay on one screen and web browser on other, which eliminates awkward switching between programs just to copy a sentence. Also really good for my studies is ability to use my laptop for taking notes, some last minute drawings on learning on the go, but I really feel benefits from second monitor when I am at home and have assignments that I have to do.

As for my work, it is really easy to open program where I do all my calculations, and on main screen I keep open AutoCAD, which I use for drawings. Also it is easier to keep track on things I have to do, if I have tighter deadline. I can keep my focus on drawing, but occasionally I can look on things I have to do and keep on going.

As for drawbacks, I can mention that there are a little bit less space on your desk, and that there are more room for distractions, but nothing too major, if you keep yourself in control.

As a conclusion, I can say that second monitor just for fun or watching movies, won’t be the best thing, but for productivity it is great. You don’t need any fancy monitor to get benefits of using second monitor.

For example, here is my setup that I am currently using.

IMG_20151104_212558

I have 19in old samsung 4:3 aspect ratio screen connected, but even that is enough to increase my productivity.

Have you used dual monitors or you consider getting another one to be more productive? Leave your thoughts down below in comments and, if you haven’t already, read other posts as well.

Leave a comment